Gov. Ivey awards $7 million in grants for highway safety

MONTGOMERY, Alabama – To improve road safety in Alabama, Governor Kay Ivey has awarded nearly $ 7 million in grants to keep roads safer by preventing injuries and deaths while ensuring that criminals are prosecuted will.

Alabama’s four regional road safety offices and the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency will use the money to cover overtime for local police officers, sheriff’s deputies, and state troopers during peak travel times, such as holidays. Law enforcement will address speeding, seat belt violations, and impairment of driving.

The money will also cover important enforcement details like “Click It or Ticket” and “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over”.

“In Alabama, we fund our law enforcement agencies to ensure their efforts to protect our communities are supported,” said Governor Ivey. “These grants will go a long way toward improving road safety in our state. As we approach another peak travel season, this becomes even more important. Ensuring public safety is a primary government responsibility and is a top priority for the Ivey administration. “

Governor Ivey awarded the following scholarships:

  • $ 1.39 million to the Franklin County Commission for the North Central Alabama Highway Safety Office. The office serves Counties of Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Fayette, Franklin, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Jackson, Madison, Marshall, Marion, Morgan, Pickens, Walker, and Winston.
  • 1.66 million US dollars to the city of Opelika for the East Central Alabama Highway Safety Office serving the districts of Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Elmore, Etowah, Jefferson, Lee, Macon, Randolph, St. Clair, Shelby, Talladega and Tallapoosa.
  • $ 1.21 million for the Regional Highway Safety Bureau in Southeast Alabama at Enterprise State Community College. The office serves Autauga, Barbour, Bibb, Bullock, Butler, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lowndes, Montgomery, Pike, Russell, and Tuscaloosa counties.
  • $ 957,369 to the Mobile County Commission for the Regional highway safety office southwest serving Counties of Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox.
  • $ 1.54 million to those Cover overtime for state troopers working extra shifts during times and in locations of high speeding and traffic delays.
  • $ 183,106 to the Public prosecutor Providing an experienced prosecutor to local prosecutors and law enforcement agencies who can provide training, education, legal research and technical assistance on road safety issues.

The grants are administered by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs, with state funding provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

“ADECA stands by Governor Ivey, the four highway safety bureaus and local law enforcement agencies who are helping make Alabama’s roads safer for all travelers to our state,” said ADECA Director Kenneth Boswell.


Suggest a correction


Gov. Ivey awards $7 million in grants for highway safety